Saturday, May 28, 2011
1. First I ask: An emprise for jousting is announced for a certain place on a certain day to deliver all knights of three lances and not more, and nothing else is announced except the prize. So it happens that one knight knocks another to the ground and out of the saddle with a stroke of the lance. Will he who knocks the other to the ground win the other's horse? What do you say in this case, will it not be judged by the law of arms?
Posted by Steve Muhlberger at 11:48 AM
2. Charny asks: If it happened that in this celebration one knight knocked another to the ground with a stroke of the lance, his saddle being between his legs and the whole thing off the horse, will he who knocked the other down win the horse? What do you say in this case, will it not be judged by the laws of arms?
Posted by Steve Muhlberger at 11:47 AM
5. Charny asks: In the emprise it is said that anyone who kills a horse with a stroke of a lance will pay for it. So it happens that in jousting one strikes the other's horse with his lance well advanced; but their horses collide so hard that both of them fall to the ground. Will he who struck the horse with the lance pay for it or not? What do you say?
Posted by Steve Muhlberger at 11:42 AM