Friday, May 27, 2011

T 21

21. Charny asks:  A knight and two squires are contracted for the tourney and for the year. The knight hastily comes into the city where he wishes to tourney, doesn't find his squires, and retains two others on the eve of the tourney. And when the morning comes the two squires who are retained for a year come before the hour of “tie it up!” and present themselves to him ready to serve him. The master refuses them for the day, for this day he has retained two others. Then the two squires retained for a year go to seek their gain with other masters for a year, and say they are able to do it. The first master says no. What will be judged in this case by the law of arms for tourneys?

No comments:

Post a Comment